Reflections Exhibit 2017

Thanks to everyone that came to honor their students at the Area 1 Gwinnett County Council of PTAs Reflections Exhibit.  We had a great turnout!

Over 95 entries will be moving on to State!  Here are the schools that will represent Area 1 at State and the number of entries that will be moving on to State.  For a complete breakdown of Placement Reports and a copy of the Program, please visit the Results Page.

School Number of Entries Moving on to State
Arcado Elementary School 1
Brookwood Elementary School 14
Brookwood High School 17
Camp Creek Elementary School 5
Centerville Elementary School 1
Craig Elementary School 1
Crews Middle School 4
Five Forks Middle School 7
Gwin Oaks Elementary School 13
Head Elementary School 4
Mountain Park Elementary School 3
Parkview High School 13
Trickum Middle School 14


District 12 Fall Conference November 1st

The speakers for the Fall Conference are:

Donna Kosicki, GA PTA President, 2011-2013.
Lisa-Marie Haygood, GA PTA President, 2015-2017
Berney Kirkland, GCPS PTA Liasion
Debbie Rabjohn, GA PTA 1st Vice President, 2017-2019
Taiwannika Walker, District 12 Secretary/Treasurer
Nicole Ponziani, Fraud & Conflict Resolution Specialist, GA PTA

Please register by clicking on this link.

2017 – 2019 Georgia PTA Officers

President – Tyler Barr, District 9, Douglas County Council

President Elect – Karen Hallacy, District 9, East Cobb County Council

1st Vice President – Shanda Ross, District 7, Clayton Council

2nd Vice President – Debbie Rabjohn, District 12, Cherokee County Council

Secretary – Lori Sweet, District 9, Tom Mathis Council

Treasurer – Lynn McIntyre, District 10, North Fulton Council

2017 Awards Available to Local Units

Here are the 4 award categories for Area 1 Gwinnett County Council of PTAs.

Award of Distinction

Volunteer of the Year

Outstanding Principal of the Year

PTA Scholarship

Consider nominating individuals from your local unit.  The completed award forms along with supporting documentations are due via email on/before Saturday, April 15, 2017, 7:00 pm EST. 

Email complete submissions to Incomplete or late submissions will not be accepted after the deadline. 

Both Area 1 and Georgia PTA Award winners will be announced at the End of the Year PTA Awards & Appreciation Dinner on May 2, 2017 at Shiloh High School.

Should you have additional questions, let us know.  We look forward to receiving your award submissions. Happy Writing!

Reflections State Placements Announced!

We had a total of 16 awards given to Area 1 students at the Woodruff Arts Center yesterday.  This is 3 more than last year.  (On both winners reports I received via email, Brianna Jones, Parkview HS, was inadvertently absent, so that brings the total up to 16).

Kyle Klerk, a 5th Grader at Mountain Park ES read his literature entry.  He is a cancer survivor and the title of his work is called “A Warrior’s Battle.”  The audience erupted into applause after his reading.  He will be moving on to Nationals.  His is the only entry to move on this year.  We wish him well and what a great accomplishment!

We topped last year!  This is the most awards given to Area 1 in FOUR YEARS!!!  Thanks to ALL the Local Units for your hard work! Over 2000 Entries were judged in all categories.  This is a huge accomplishment for these students.  Here is the breakdown of Awards received.

1 Intermediate Winner and Entry to Nationals
3 First Places
5 Second Places
5 Third Place
3 Honorable Mentions


Dance Choreography

Second Place, Jocelyn Giles, Grade 2, Mountain Park Elementary School
First Place, Madeline Smith, Grade 7, Shiloh Middle School
Third Place, Radhika Patel , Grade 12, Parkview High School

Film/Video Production

Second Place, Mason Boggs, Grade 3, Mountain Park Elementary School
Third Place, Melissa Da Vila, Grade 12, Shiloh High School


Honorable Mention, Brooke Agber, Kindergarten, Partee Elementary School
Honorable Mention, Coleman Fowler, Kindergarten, Brookwood Elementary School
First Place and Entry to National, Kyle Klerk, Grade 5, Mountain Park Elementary School
Second Place, Nuzhat Ahmed, Grade 8, Trickum Middle School


Honorable Mention, Sunny-Lee Alsobrook, Grade 1, Gwin Oaks Elementary School
Third Place, Sarah Dhanani, Grade 7, Crews Middle School


Visual Arts

Second Place, Karla Frankova, Grade 3, Camp Creek Elementary School
Third Place, Dylan Schmidt, Grade 5, Head Elementary School
Second Place, Hannah Sanders, Grade 6, Crews Middle School
Third Place, Mary Wang, Grade 9, Parkview High School


First Place, Briana Jones, Grade 11, Parkview High School